First blog post

This is the post excerpt.

This is your very first post. Click the Edit link to modify or delete it, or start a new post. If you like, use this post to tell readers why you started this blog and what you plan to do with it.



Welcome to Tynedale Chess Club website

Welcome to Tynedale Chess Club’s website!

The website is run by Tim and David Wrigley. Members of the club are encouraged to contribute, please contact Tim or David for help and assistance.

Please note that the views expressed on this website are those of individuals rather than Tynedale Chess Club. It is not our intention to cause offence and any inappropriate or unsuitable material will be removed. Please let the website adminstrators know if you unhappy with any of the contents.
To help avoid any problems we have included some guidelines above for contributors.

Club Championship final 2017

This year’s championship was decided on June 27th, when Derek Blair and Steve Larkin played the final at Derek’s house. Derek had white and the opening play was very positional. For a considerable time there was nothing in it, until Derek launched a sacrificial attack which failed to pay off, leaving him a bishop down. A series of forced exchanges consolidated Steve’s lead and in the endgame Derek, up against a knight and three pawns to his own two pawns, resigned when it was clear that he could not prevent Steve queening a pawn. It had been a long, hard game – some 60 moves in about two hours and fifty minutes – decided largely by one miscalculation.

Club championship 2016-17

As of 20 May 2017, all quarter-final and semi-final games have taken place, with the following results. In the quarter-finals, Malcolm Reid beat Bruce Reed, Steve Larkin beat Dave Humphreys, Tim Wrigley beat Dave Foster by default, and Derek Blair beat Peter Booker. In the semi-finals, Steve beat Malcolm and Derek beat Tim. So the final is an all-Riding Mill affair between Derek and Steve.

NCA – End of Season League Tables

Division One

Team Name Played Wins Draws Losses Game Points Match Points
Forest Hall Admirals 10 8 1 1 32 17
Gosforth Empire 10 6 2 2 33 14
Tynemouth A 10 5 0 5 26.5 10
South Shields A 10 4 2 4 26.5 10
Durham City 10 4 2 4 25.5 10
Morpeth A 10 4 2 4 25.5 10
Leam Lane Aces 10 4 2 4 25.5 10
Tynedale Tans 10 4 2 4 23.5 10
Jesmond Knights 10 3 3 4 25 9
South Shields B 10 2 3 5 18 7
Gosforth Regents 10 1 1 8 14 3

Division Three

Team Name Played Wins Draws Losses Game Points Match Points
Tynedale Reivers 9 7 2 0 30.5 16
Tynemouth C 9 7 0 2 35.5 14
Gosforth E 9 4 3 2 24.5 11
Forest Hall Dragoons 9 3 3 3 22 9
Tynemouth D 9 3 3 3 21 9
Morpeth C 9 4 1 4 20 9
Forest Hall Ensigns 8 3 2 3 21 8
South Shields C 8 2 3 3 18 7
Forest Hall F 7 0 2 5 9.5 2
Alnwick B 9 0 1 8 13 1

Tans v S Shields A

The Tans produced a stunning end to the season. Heavily outgraded, they were 2-0 down, and staring defeat in the face. But, within 30 seconds the match was turned round, as David, Tim and Alex all won.

Particular congratulations to David, his opponent Joe Watson had not previously lost this season. Also congratultions to Alex, we wish him well in Lincoln, and hope to see him again soon.

Tans v S Shields A
Played at Corbridge Thu 27 Apr 2017
David Wrigley 1-0 Joe Watson
Tim Wrigley 1-0 Paul Bielby
Alex Ashworth 1-0 Ian Maughan
Derek Blair 0-1 Colin Campbell
Steve Larkin 0-1 Eddie Chestochowski


Two Matches in Corbridge

Two matches played in Corbridge last night, both were drawn 2-2, but lost on handicap.

Played at Corbridge Thu 6 Apr 2017
Angels h/c res res h/c Austins
Tim Wrigley 2 2 2 2 George Glover
Alex Ashworth 3 2 2 5 Bill Burgess
Steve Larkin 4 4 0 5 Bill Hardwick
Peter Booker 6 0 4 6 John Lydon
15 8 8 18
23 26


Played at Corbridge Thu 6 Apr 2017
Monarchs h/c res res h/c Friars
Gary Murphy 1 4 0 4 Alan Hiatt
Derek Blair 4 0 4 4 Camus Millar
Malcolm Reid 5 0 4 6 Drew Millar
Bruce Reed 5 4 0 8 Mike Hodgkinson
15 8 8 22
23 30



Club Championship update March 2017

At the end of the all-play-all phase, the scores were:

Bruce Reed 2/2

Tim Wrigley 2/2

Steve Larkin 1.5/3

Peter Booker 1/2

Derek Blair 1/2

Dave Humphries 1/5

Dave Foster jr 0.5/1

Malcolm Reid 0/1

No other games were played, so all eight progress to the knockout phase which, in accordance with the championship rules, produces the following line-up:

A. Bruce v Malcolm

B. Steve v Dave H

C. Tim v Dave F jr

D. Peter B v Derek

Tans v Jesmond Knights

Another close match. Neither side was at full strength, and maybe Tynedale were marginally stronger.

First to finish was Tim, who offered a draw after a torrid opening petered out. Maybe I should have persevered, but I was just glad to to get anything. Mariana seemed to have an awkward position with Chris’s Queen well placed on d6, and seemingly in control, but Chris couldn’t find a way through, and a draw was agreed. Peter was on the difficult end of a Bishop and 6(?) pawn endings, Liam had chances but a draw was agreed when he ran short of time. Gary once again carried the team, another fine win, and I believe a Rook sacrifice. David enjoyed his game, and gave John plenty to think about after a difficult opening. Sadly for the Tans, his loss meant the match was drawn.

Even though the Tans have 8 points from 9 matches, they are still not safe. The table shows 8 of the 11 teams all bunched together, with the title still up for grabs, and relegation undecided.

Tans v Jesmond Knights
Played at Corbridge Thu 23 Mar 2017
Mariana Mosnegutu ½-½ Chris Izod
Gary Murphy 1-0 Ed Dodds
David Wrigley 0-1 John Turnock
Tim Wrigley ½-½ David Walshaw
Peter Crichton ½-½ Liam Dobson